No need to panic: National Centre for Seismology on recent NCR earthquakes | India News

NEW DELHI: Amid a string of low-to-mild intensity earthquakes felt in Delhi-NCR region over the last few days, Director of the National Centre for Seismology (NCS) B K Bansal on Thursday sought to assure the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) that there was no need to panic with respect to the recent seismic activities. Speaking at a meeting convened by NDMA to discuss management of risk posed by earthquakes in Delhi-NCR, Bansal at the same time underlined that it was important to undertake preparedness and mitigation measures to cut the risk.
The NCS director explained that given the seismic history of Delhi and its vicinity, the occurrence of minor earthquakes in Delhi-NCR was not unusual. However, he did add that there exists no proven technology in the world to predict earthquakes with certainty in terms of their location, time and magnitude.
As a follow-up to today’s meeting, NDMA has requested all states and Union territories to take certain measures for preparedness and management of tremors. These require state/UTs to ensure compliance of building bye-laws so as to make upcoming constructions earthquake-resilient and to avoid addition of vulnerable building stock. NDMA also suggested to the states to identify vulnerable priority structures within their jurisdiction, especially lifeline buildings, and retrofit them. Private buildings should also be retrofitted to reduce the risk in a phased manner, wherever required, it advised.
NDMA has asked state authorities to conduct regular mock drills to deal with possible tremors in future and come out with standard operating procedures (SoPs) for immediate response after an earthquake. Also, states were asked to undertake public awareness programmes regarding do’s and don’ts with regard to earthquakes.
The meeting on Thursday, held via video-conferencing, was attended by NDMA members; DG, National Disaster Response Force; and senior officers of governments of NCT of Delhi, Rajasthan, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.

[Source :Times of India]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here